He is Risen!

Happy belated Easter! He is risen indeed and I don’t know about you but I sure am grateful! This year for Easter I decided to incorporate southern comfort food for my sweet husband with a Midwestern touch for well…me (coming in the form of VERY cheesy scalloped potatoes with a lot of cream)! I originally had planned to serve a traditional ham for our Easter lunch but when I saw how expensive it was I was thankful to remember how not so nonchalantly my husband had recently made several requests for fried chicken.

Like the rest of America I have been on a major health kick and had pretty much  banned all fried foods from our house…but I decided to make an exception on this very special day. Make my husband happy and save a few bucks: win win. To say he was pleased was an understatement. I added some very cheesy scalloped potatoes, green beans, and dinner rolls to finish off the meal. This was also a monumental occasion, as it was the first use of our beautiful wedding china! I was also sure to purchase some beautiful tulips to lighten up our little home.

IMG_0357

Living far from family is certainly hard on these special days but there was one advantage…left-overs! Here are the delish recipes for my fried chicken and scalloped potatoes. Thank you Lord for the sacrifice of the cross and for beautiful days to remember and eat well!

Made with Repix (http://repix.it)

IMG_0379

Made with Repix (http://repix.it)

Easy Fried Chicken

4-5 skinned and boned chicken breasts
1 tsp salt
2 tsp freshly ground black pepper
1 sleeve saltine crackers, crushed
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 cup milk
2 large eggs
oil

Place chicken breasts between 2 sheets of heavy-duty plastic wrap, and flatten to 1/4-inch thickness using a meat mallet or rolling pin. Sprinkle with half of the salt and pepper. Set aside.

Combine cracker crumbs, flour, baking powder, remaining salt and pepper. Whisk together milk and eggs. Dredge chicken in cracker crumb mixture; dip in milk mixture, and dredge in cracker mixture again.

Pour oil to a depth of 1/2 inch in a 12-inch skillet (do not use a nonstick skillet). Over medium high heat (more on the high side) fry chicken, in batches, 10 minutes, adding oil as needed. Turn and fry 4 to 5 more minutes or until golden brown. Remove to a wire rack in a cookie sheet. Keep chicken warm in a 225° oven.

*I cook on a gas stove that tends to brown the outside before the inside is cool. I usual end up cooking the chicken in the oven for an extra 15 minutes to make sure the chicken is fully cooked.

Scalloped Potatoes

1/4 cup butter
2 tbsp all-purpose flour
Half a pint of heavy whipping cream
2 cloves garlic
2 1/4 cups shredded cheese (I used a blend of cheddar, mozzarella, and monterey jack), divided
Fresh parsley sprinkled on top
4 large russet potatoes (any kind will do), skins on, thinly sliced

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees (F).

To make the sauce, I melted the butter in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Next, I stirred the flour thoroughly into the butter and added the cream and garlic . The sauce was stirred over medium/high heat until it began to bubble and thicken. I removed it from the heat and stirred in 2 cups of the grated cheese. The sauce was set aside.

Next, I sprayed a deep casserole dish with some cooking spray. I then layered the potato slices in the dish and continued until the potatoes were used up.

The sauce was then poured over the potatoes and the whole thing was given a good  shake on the counter top to get the sauce to ooze down into all the potatoes. The top was sprinkled with the remaining 1/4 cup of cheese. I then placed the casserole dish on a baking sheet in case it bubbled over and baked it for 60 minutes until brown and bubbly.

 

Leave a Reply

